Skip to content

Permit me to suffer

September 13, 2010

“I understood that to become a saint one had to suffer much, seek out always the most perfect thing to do, and forget self. I understood, too, that there are many degrees of perfection and each soul was free to respond to the advances of the Our Lord, to do little or much for Him, in a word, to choose among the sacrifices He was asking. Then, as in the days of my childhood, I cried out:

My God I choose all!’ I do not want to be a saint by halves, I’m not afraid to suffer for You, I fear only one thing: to keep my own will; so take it, for I choose all that You will!

– St. Therese of Lisieux, Story of a Soul

O Lord, permit me to suffer for you! Grant me Your graces to withstand all the numerous little crosses that come to me each day, for You know that without Your help I would not be able to bear them at all. I, like your beloved Little Flower Therese, do not want to be a saint by halves! I want to choose all of You, regardless of how my fleshly inclinations rebel against drinking the bitter chalice of your Passion!

From → Suffering

One Comment
  1. Vita Consecrata permalink

    Suffering for Christ…
    I needed this today.

Leave a Reply

