Skip to content

Return to full communion

October 31, 2010

Today, as many Protestants celebrate “Reformation Day,” and we Catholics reflect upon the events that separated millions of Christians from us, we would do well to remember that reforming and separation must never be ends in themselves, least of all to the point of becoming so comfortable with schism that we forget that it exists, or that we are in it. Today we ought to reflect on the schism that continues to divide Protestants and Catholics, and earnestly pray that God by His grace may reconcile us, in one family, at one table, so that the world may see our unity in love and know that this love is from Christ, and that Christ is from the Father.

via Trueman and Prolegomena to “How would Protestants know when to return?”

3 Comments
  1. I really like that quotation.

    Question…and not trying to start a debate or prove anythig..I’m just really curious..you can answer privately via email if you like (or not answer..you’re allowed that to! haha)

    What, if any, doctrines of the Catholic church are still problematic for you? Do you believe your struggle with those lies in your protestant past or do you think it’s an area where there does need to be reform within the Catholic church?

    • I’m curious about that too, Erika. You should dedicate a post to it!

      I know you weren’t asking me, Nicole, but I’ll answer anyway. 😉 I think it is only natural to not entirely agree, or want to agree, with positively everything, just out of human nature. I struggle with some things, but I see it as an opportunity to grow, to question, and to strengthen my faith because I know ultimately the Catholic Church is rooted in truth.

    • Nicole, sorry it’s taken me so long to reply. Every time I start to write something I get sidetracked!

      As far as doctrines, no there is nothing that remains problematic for me. Deciding to join the Catholic Church was such a huge leap for me (in so many ways, but definitely mentally/rationally) that I spent hours scouring every writing I could on just about every doctrine, and then weighing it against the Protestant response/teaching. I really had to believe the Church had it right if I was going to come into communion with Her. So I battled my demons at the start, because I think to be a convert you really HAVE to. And I do believe the Church is infallible in her doctrine, due to God purposely preserving her, so I don’t struggle really at all now with anything she teaches on an official level.

      But as for reform, yes I think the Church is in constant need of it. Not reform of her doctrines, but reform of her people and the various disciplines and activities taking place within the Church. For example, the Church here in America has generally struggled with a vast array of liturgical abuses since the 1960s. There is reform happening now through greater education, insistence upon it by the faithful, and an influx of new priests who are much more orthodox, but there is still a ways to go. Then you have the multitude of Catholics, including very famous ones, who claim the name, yet do not submit to many of the Church teachings — which causes great scandal and sin. So there is a lot of room for reform, yes! I think Christ has been reforming His Church ever since the beginning (think the church at Corinth and Galatia).

      I hope that answered your question. 🙂

Leave a Reply

